

# Society of Interventional Radiology Names Robert J. Lewandowski, MD, FSIR, President for 2024–2025



### Other key leaders of SIR and SIR Foundation announced

**Robert J. Lewandowski**, MD, FSIR, an interventional radiologist and professor at Northwestern Medicine Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, assumed the office of president of the <u>Society of Interventional Radiology</u> (SIR) on March 26 during the SIR 2024 Annual Scientific Meeting in Salt Lake City.

"Throughout the last 50 years, SIR has enabled the specialty to grow in an evolving healthcare landscape, providing IRs with the education, resources, and support required for members to thrive," said Lewandowski. "As we look forward, SIR remains committed to fostering healthcare innovations that improve patients' lives worldwide."

Other incoming officers of SIR's 2024–2025 Board of Directors include President-elect **Robert A. Lookstein**, MD, FSIR, Mount Sinai Health System and Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York; newly appointed Secretary **Saher S. Sabri**, MD, FSIR, MedStar Georgetown University Hospital; and Immediate Past-president **Alda L. Tam**, MD, MBA, FSIR, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston.

Other appointed and elected SIR leadership positions filled this year are:

## **SIR Board of Directors**

- Kelvin Hong, MD, FSIR—Director, at-large
- Nishita Kothary, MD, FSIR—Director, at-large

#### SIR and SIR Foundation Steering Council

### Divisions

- Sun-Ho Ahn, MD, FSIR—Education Division Councilor
- Paula Novelli, MD, FSIR-2024-2030 Annual Meeting Program Committee

#### Clinical Specialty Councils

- · Joseph J. Gemmete, MD, FSIR-Neurointerventional Radiology Council Vice Chair
- Gulraiz Chaudry, MD, FSIR-Pediatric IR Vice Chair
- Andrew Gunn, MD, FSIR—Renal and GU Council Vice Chair

SIR Foundation also appointed the following members to its Board of Directors:

- Clifford R. Weiss, MD, FSIR-Vice Chair
- · Shellie C. Josephs, MD, FSIR—Secretary
- Nadine Abi-Jaoudeh, MD, FSIR-Clinical Trials and Registries Division Chair

© For personal and private use only. Reproduction must be permitted by the copyright holder. Email to copyright@mindbyte.eu.

- Amy C. Taylor, MD—Development Division Chair
  Dania Daye, MD, PhD—Research Education and Outreach Division Chair

# Source: Society of Interventional Radiology

Image Credit: Northwestern University

Published on : Tue, 26 Mar 2024